Location: Feedback

Discussion: site blocked as being maliciousReported This is a featured thread

Showing 6 posts
Ginnina
Ginnina
site blocked as being malicious
Jan 31 2010, 6:46 PM EST | Post edited: Jan 31 2010, 6:46 PM EST
So my browser blocked the shimmyschool wetpaint site as being "malicious" I thought that this was in error until I had someone naviagte to my site only to have an advertisement hijack their computer telling them that they can't run their regular antivirus because it is infected. We had to restor their system to an earlier point. I don't mind advertisements because that's what supports the sites and keeps them running, but this kind of "advertising" is illegal. Can you find the source and put a stop to it please??

Much appreciated!
Ginnina
Do you find this valuable?    
Naru2008
Naru2008
1. RE: site blocked as being malicious
Jan 31 2010, 6:59 PM EST | Post edited: Jan 31 2010, 7:22 PM EST
"So my browser blocked the shimmyschool wetpaint site as being "malicious" I thought that this was in error until I had someone naviagte to my site only to have an advertisement hijack their computer telling them that they can't run their regular antivirus because it is infected. We had to restor their system to an earlier point. I don't mind advertisements because that's what supports the sites and keeps them running, but this kind of "advertising" is illegal. Can you find the source and put a stop to it please??

Much appreciated!
Ginnina"
- Edited -

Read CD's post below.
Do you find this valuable?    
CryingDove
CryingDove
2. RE: site blocked as being malicious
Jan 31 2010, 7:03 PM EST | Post edited: Jan 31 2010, 7:04 PM EST
"So my browser blocked the shimmyschool wetpaint site as being "malicious" I thought that this was in error until I had someone naviagte to my site only to have an advertisement hijack their computer telling them that they can't run their regular antivirus because it is infected. We had to restor their system to an earlier point. I don't mind advertisements because that's what supports the sites and keeps them running, but this kind of "advertising" is illegal. Can you find the source and put a stop to it please??

Much appreciated!
Ginnina"
Ginnina, your site was created on Wednesday of this week. When did the visitor get hijacked from your site. This information is important as far as timing goes. Wetpaint did find a advertising source that redirected to a bogus anti-virus scan site. But the malware did not prevent the users from running their own anti-virus software.
If possible, can you supply an approximate date and time. Thanks.
I will alert Wetpaint as to this thread.
Do you find this valuable?    
Ginnina
Ginnina
3. RE: site blocked as being malicious
Feb 1 2010, 1:25 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 1 2010, 1:25 PM EST
It was friday around 6:30-7:00 pm mountain time (el Paso) Do you find this valuable?    
Baby_Apple
Baby_Apple
4. RE: site blocked as being malicious
Feb 1 2010, 3:45 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 1 2010, 3:45 PM EST
"It was friday around 6:30-7:00 pm mountain time (el Paso)"
It should be fixed now. You can go ahead and unblock your wiki again.
Do you find this valuable?    
jeremy_wetpaint
jeremy_wetpaint
5. RE: site blocked as being malicious
Feb 1 2010, 5:51 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 1 2010, 6:00 PM EST
"It should be fixed now. You can go ahead and unblock your wiki again. "
Unfortunately, it looks like it's back. Some people are still encountering malware through ads. We're working on trying to identify the culprit.

I am also recommending everyone with Adobe Reader/Acrobat update. This is another way that your computer could become infected. See: http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/apsb10-02.html
Do you find this valuable?    

Related Content

  (what's this?Related ContentThanks to keyword tags, links to related pages and threads are added to the bottom of your pages. Up to 15 links are shown, determined by matching tags and by how recently the content was updated; keeping the most current at the top. Share your feedback on Wetpaint Central.)