Location: Wetpaint Central Discussion Forum

Discussion: TROJAN HORSEReported This is a featured thread

Showing 4 posts

Posted Anonymously
TROJAN HORSE
Sep 29 2009, 8:39 AM EDT | Post edited: Sep 29 2009, 8:39 AM EDT
A scan of my PC using AVG has revealed 6 Trojan Horses.

Four of them are on my backup HD and two are on my C drive.

The address will mention the hard drive letter, then one of my personal folders and then the name of my Wetpaint website followed by .exe.
The name of the Trojan Horse is Agent 2.GQI

All appear to be associated with my Wetpaint website.

Any ideas on why this is happening?
Although AVG alerts me to the fact , I'm not sure if it actually detroys them when found.
Defender says all is normal.
Do you find this valuable?    
chrisco97
chrisco97
1. RE: TROJAN HORSE
Sep 29 2009, 10:34 AM EDT | Post edited: Sep 29 2009, 10:40 AM EDT
I remember this happening to me. It turned out to be an ad trying to get you to purchase their software. Do you find this valuable?    
Baby_Apple
Baby_Apple
2. RE: TROJAN HORSE
Sep 29 2009, 3:37 PM EDT | Post edited: Sep 29 2009, 3:37 PM EDT
Your anti-virus software will probably tell you the location of each virus. Delete the viruses.

If the name of the virus file includes the name of your wetpaint site, then it originated in one of the ads. Do you ever remember clicking on an ad, or being automatically sent to a site while using your wiki?
Do you find this valuable?    
1#brave
1#brave
3. RE: TROJAN HORSE
Sep 29 2009, 6:07 PM EDT | Post edited: Sep 29 2009, 6:07 PM EDT
Please email info@wetpaint.com with the subject report an ad. Then tell them what you just told us. Do you find this valuable?    

Related Content

  (what's this?Related ContentThanks to keyword tags, links to related pages and threads are added to the bottom of your pages. Up to 15 links are shown, determined by matching tags and by how recently the content was updated; keeping the most current at the top. Share your feedback on Wetpaint Central.)