Sign in or 

|
sjenn2001 |
Member gets error message
Sep 2 2009, 12:08 PM EDT
I received the following message from one of my members:"can post, as long as I do it off of someone's e-mail message to ME. If I try to go into wetpaint from the Internet, I get an immediate flurry of terrifying warnings from "Windows" saying my computer is in grave danger of fatal viruses and I need to run scans immediately b/c of some "exe" endings or something. I'm wondering if this is a bunch of baloney and dangerous in and of itself. I ran my MacAfee, which did a total scan and found nothing out of the ordinary, but I still can't get onsite unless I go through someone's e-mail to me. *SIGH* I just don't know who has it in for me!! So, I guess this is what I'll do. Hopefully, I can keep someone's e-mail to me current so I can get on in! My site address is: yandrhappyhour.wetpaint.com This member also belongs to another wetpaint site and has no problems. It took her weeks to finally join my site and now this. Is there a reason why she can't belong to both sites? I have other members that belong to other wetpaint sites. Please help, I'm trying to increase my membership. Thanks. Do you find this valuable? |
|
Hadye |
1. RE: Member gets error message
Sep 2 2009, 2:04 PM EDT
The virus warnings are completely false. Wetpaint is working hard to remove these ads, so thanks for your report.
Do you find this valuable?
|
|
jeremy_wetpaint |
2. RE: Member gets error message
Sep 2 2009, 2:40 PM EDT
It sounds like the user either has spyware on their computer, or they are seeing an ad that contains the virus warning message. If it's the latter, we want to know what the ad is. We have instructions on how to report an ad here:http://www.wetpaintcentral.com/page/ads Do you find this valuable? |
|
sjenn2001 |
3. RE: Member gets error message
Sep 2 2009, 5:11 PM EDT
Thank you so much for your help! I'll let my member know!
Do you find this valuable?
|