Sign in or 

|
Echofire |
sweetheart scam?
Jul 5 2009, 12:22 AM EDT
yesterday(july 3rd, 2009), at 1:00 pm EDT, i got a message that sounded like a sweetheart scam. it was from a registered user named jane2000 on http://goldenpaintcanawards.wetpaint.com. i reported it to the site's moderators already. my username on that site is Echofirethe message consisted of this: "jane200desmond@ yahoo.co.uk name is miss jane desmond saw your profile today and became intrested in you,i will also like to know you more,and i want you to send an email to my email address so i can give you my picture, for you to know whom i am. Here is my email address jane200desmond@ yahoo.co.uk I believe we can move from here! I am waiting for your mail to my email address above. jane. (Remeber the distance or colour does not matter but love matters alot in life) jane200desmond@ yahoo.co.uk" 2 out of 2 found this valuable. Do you? |
|
BrandonE |
1. RE: sweetheart scam?
Jul 5 2009, 3:20 AM EDT
I recieved the same message, I'm sure someone will get rid of her.
Do you find this valuable?
|
|
warriorluver98 |
2. RE: sweetheart scam?
Aug 17 2009, 5:56 AM EDT
I got one fromo Vickyjoy200.I think Vicky-T is her alternate account, since Vickyjoy200 got banned. Do you find this valuable? |
|
DerCat |
3. RE: sweetheart scam?
Aug 17 2009, 7:18 AM EDT
Vicky-T has been here a lot longer. And Vicky-T is NOT the one sending you this.
Do you find this valuable?
|
|
walrusworldstudios |
4. RE: sweetheart scam?
Aug 17 2009, 8:15 AM EDT
Warriorluver98, I can assure you that Vicky-T is not Vickyjoy200 or Vickyjoy. Also, I am sure wetpaint will ban the user as soon has possible. This user has tried to scam many users before on Wetpaint Central, however, you are safe from them here, because they have been banned here.
Do you find this valuable?
|
|
Posted Anonymously |
|
|
CryingDove |
6. RE: sweetheart scam?
Aug 17 2009, 10:28 AM EDT
| Post edited: Aug 17 2009, 10:29 AM EDT
Sweetheart Scams - They have been around for a long time. They will continue to happen. The name the scammer chooses can be many and can mimic innocent users. Banning them is like spitting the ocean to see if you can create a wave. It is best to ignore, delete and report the Scam message. For a closer look at the credentials of only one scammer (there are thousands like this one ), go to http://splats.wetpaint.com/page/Spam+and+Scam Reading through that page will give you an idea as to why the scammers appear again and again. CD ╔═══════╗ wpc moderator ╚═══════╝ Do you find this valuable? |
|
DerCat |