Location: Wetpaint Central Discussion Forum

Discussion: Malicious SoftwareReported This is a featured thread

Showing 1 - 11 of 11  |  Show  posts at a time

CrippledFinger
Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 12:21 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 12:21 PM EST
Anyone that comes across a person on your site by the user name- frontyjr - Do not click on anything on their profile page, ban them and make note on your site so that everyone knows.

The reason for this is that once you click on anything, it sends you to a different malicious site.

Please...Let everyone know you can...

Thanks...
1  out of 1 found this valuable. Do you?    
Baby_Apple
Baby_Apple
1. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 2:20 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 2:20 PM EST
Please send me the URL for the wiki where you encountered this issue. We shouldn't be so quick to blame it on a specific user. It may be your computer. frontyjr may not have anything to do with the spyware.
-Moderator Baby Apple
2  out of 2 found this valuable. Do you?    

Posted Anonymously
2. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 8:50 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 8:50 PM EST
"Please send me the URL for the wiki where you encountered this issue. We shouldn't be so quick to blame it on a specific user. It may be your computer. frontyjr may not have anything to do with the spyware.
-Moderator Baby Apple"
Well, I highly doubt its my computer. If you knew me you would understand. But, yeah, if you wouldn't mind checking it out that would be great.

Thanks...


hackersrus.wetpaint.com

P.S- Please let me know what you find because I did ban the member, and if he/she is not at fault I would like to apologize...Thanks Again!


-Proud Admin. of hackersrus-
Do you find this valuable?    
Roderigo
Roderigo
3. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 8:54 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 8:54 PM EST
"Well, I highly doubt its my computer. If you knew me you would understand. But, yeah, if you wouldn't mind checking it out that would be great.

Thanks...


hackersrus.wetpaint.com

P.S- Please let me know what you find because I did ban the member, and if he/she is not at fault I would like to apologize...Thanks Again!


-Proud Admin. of hackersrus-
"
It's highly doubtable that this is the user. This is becoming a rapidly growing problem - Wetpaint needs to isolate the source quickly before it spreads all over the network.
Do you find this valuable?    
Baby_Apple
Baby_Apple
4. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 8:56 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 8:56 PM EST
The source is in one of our ads. We are doing everything we can to remove the virus. 2  out of 2 found this valuable. Do you?    
Roderigo
Roderigo
5. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 8:58 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 8:58 PM EST
"The source is in one of our ads. We are doing everything we can to remove the virus."
That's good that you've found this out, but there are millions of ads. Tricky stuff. I wish I could help more.
Do you find this valuable?    
Baby_Apple
Baby_Apple
6. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 8:59 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 8:59 PM EST
It is most likely one ad that is causing the problem. Do you find this valuable?    

CrippledFinger
7. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 10:10 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 10:10 PM EST
How can you be sure that ads are causing it?

I don't mean to be rude but Wetpaint is the one that puts them up there, don't you check before hand? Or do you just allow any ad to display things?
Do you find this valuable?    
Madusha
Madusha
8. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 3 2009, 11:15 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 3 2009, 11:15 PM EST
"I don't mean to be rude but Wetpaint is the one that puts them up there, don't you check before hand? Or do you just allow any ad to display things?"
The new ads have been removed and the problem has been solved. This is a fault with the ad publishers, not Wetpaint. They have not checked before publishing the ads. Wetpaint has now gone back to using Google Ads.
2  out of 2 found this valuable. Do you?    

Posted Anonymously
9. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 4 2009, 1:32 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 4 2009, 1:32 PM EST
"The new ads have been removed and the problem has been solved. This is a fault with the ad publishers, not Wetpaint. They have not checked before publishing the ads. Wetpaint has now gone back to using Google Ads."
Thanks for your swiftness in fixing this problem.


-Proud Admin. of hackersrus-
1  out of 1 found this valuable. Do you?    
jeremy_wetpaint
jeremy_wetpaint
10. RE: Malicious Software
Feb 4 2009, 5:17 PM EST | Post edited: Feb 4 2009, 5:17 PM EST
Please see http://www.wetpaintcentral.com/page/Wetpaint+Status for a full explanation of what happened. 1  out of 1 found this valuable. Do you?    

Related Content

  (what's this?Related ContentThanks to keyword tags, links to related pages and threads are added to the bottom of your pages. Up to 15 links are shown, determined by matching tags and by how recently the content was updated; keeping the most current at the top. Share your feedback on Wetpaint Central.)