Sweetheart Scam
We all feel self conscious and scared when it comes to the "Sweetheart Scam."
For those of you that do not know, the Sweetheart Scam is a private message another user sends you that is somewhat like this:
"Hello. My name is bob, I saw your profile today and became interested in you. I will also like to know you more, and if you can send an email to my email address, I will give you my pictures here is my email address (*****@*****.com). I believe we can move from here, as in dating or getting married! Awaiting for your mail to my email address above.
Bob"
Really, do you like these messages? I thought so.
What the "Sweetheart Scam" really is:
This is both Wetpaint spam and an Email spam. It is also a scam.
They usually are people from foreign countries trying to get money. That is the "Scam" part.
If you email them back, they just save your email address and send you email spam. This is the "Email Spam" part.
Wetpaint Spam is this and advertising your wiki or another wiki at the wrong place. This is the "Wetpaint Spam" part.
"Someone sent me the Sweetheart Scam. What do I do?"
Just ignore the message and copy+paste the letter and send it to all the moderators. Moderators will most-likely ban the user. Next, report it here on this page in a thread. Put the user's username and the wiki it happened on. Private message Wetpaint Central moderators with the letter from the scammer. Make sure the subject is "Sweetheart Scam."
How do I prevent this from happening?
You might be able to prevent this in the future by hiding your username. Go to your profile, and on the Preferences tab, check the check-box next to the text "Do not list my username in the Site Members report". Doing this has the side effect that other users on the wiki will have to know your exact username in order to be able to contact you.
|
Anonymous |
|
welcome
|
0 |
Nov 1 2009, 1:37 PM EST by
Anonymous |
|
|
Thread started: Nov 1 2009, 1:37 PM EST
Watch
plz reply
out of
found this valuable.
Do you find this valuable?
|
|
Anonymous |
|
welcome
|
0 |
Nov 1 2009, 1:36 PM EST by
Anonymous |
|
|
Thread started: Nov 1 2009, 1:36 PM EST
Watch
wats ur name
out of
found this valuable.
Do you find this valuable?
|
|
|
|
I got the Sweetheart Scam
|
3 |
Oct 30 2009, 4:46 PM EDT by
|
|
|
Thread started: Oct 30 2009, 3:07 PM EDT
Watch
http://www.wetpaintcentral.com/account/promiselove5Message Sent: Hi Dear ! How are you doing today i,hope every thing is fine,? if so thanks be to God almighty who made it so ,My name is promise and i am a girl. I saw your profile at wetpaintcentral.com and I personaly became interested in being your friend even more than that ,but as time goes on we will know better. I will be very glad if you can contact me back so that i can send you my pictures and tell you more about myself here is my adress (promise_mpkababy@yahoo.com) Hoping to talk to you soon ,have a nice day and ramain Blessed. Regards, promise
out of
found this valuable.
Do you find this valuable?
|
Showing 3 of 13 threads for this page
-
view all